Friday, April 13, 2007

2007 Man Booker International Judges' List Announced

I saw this on Naijablog today.

Several of my favourite authors were nominated for the 2007 Man Booker International Prize: Chinua Achebe, Margaret Atwood and Doris Lessing. It's an impressive list.

Now, according to the website, The Man Booker International Prize is unique in the world of literature in that it can be won by an author of any nationality, providing that his or her work is available in the English language. It will be awarded every second year.

So, is this different from the regular Booker Prize that I'm familiar with (Ben Okri, Rohinton Mistry and Arundhati Roy are past winners) or did they just add "Man" to the name?


obyno said...

Yes Ore, this prize is different, first of all for being a biennial event, and not an annual event like the fiction prize. In addition, the International prize rewards a writer's full body of work rather than any individual book. Also like you noted in your post, it is not limited to writers who trace their origin to the British Isles, Ireland or the commonwealth - it recognises all works of literature in english(including works translated into english). The inaugural winner was the Albanian writer Ismail Kadare and the 2007 shortlist includes the Latin American writer Carlos Fuentes.
Follow the link below for more info:

Click here

bibliobibuli said...

hi Ore! was just blogging this myself and pondering how hard it is to choose between these wonderful authors

the "man" in the title is for the sponsor, Man Group PLC

Ore said...

Hi Obyno and Bibliobibuli,
Thanks for the info.